Dennis Skulsky

CFL Bob Ackles Award | 2023

A familiar face throughout the CFL community, Dennis was appointed the 29th president of the BC Lions Football Club by owner David Braley in May 2010. During his time as Lion’s President and CEO, he also served as vice chairman and CFL Governor for the club on the CFL Board of Directors. In 2011 the Lions won their sixth Grey Cup title capturing this treasured honour at home here in Vancouver for the first time ever.

Skulsky became more actively involved with the club originally as a volunteer and community business advisor. He became even more engaged with the formation of the Waterboys, a group founded by the club’s late President, Bob Ackles. Skulsky became the volunteer chair and spearheaded the 2005 Grey Cup Committee whose “Party on the Pacific” festival remains one of the most entertaining, well-attended and profitable Grey Cup Festivals and game ever staged. Dennis played a similar role as Co-Chair of the 2011 Grey Cup Committee along with close friend and successful business leader Moray Keith.

As a veteran media executive in the newspaper industry, Skulsky originally began his career more than three decades ago at the Edmonton Journal followed by senior leadership roles with Southam Inc, Hollinger and CanWest. He was also President and Publisher of the Pacific Newspaper Group (publisher of the Vancouver Sun and Province Newspapers). His last four years saw him as the President and CEO of CanWest Publishing based out of Toronto as he oversaw all of the company’s print and online assets across Canada.

Skulsky was recognized in the Vancouver community with numerous leadership awards including an honorary doctorate degree from BCIT. He also promoted the awareness of the game of football through the opportunities provided to him through his career in media and numerous community roles.

Dennis and his wife Marlene have two beautiful married daughters, Jodi (Adam), Kimberly (Francis) and have been blessed with five grandchildren, Grace, Audrey, Olivier, Luca and Arlow.

Dennis was inducted into the BC Lions Wall of Fame in August 2023 as one of four Founders of the Waterboys.

Dennis has been a member of the BC Football Hall of Fame Board of Directors since its inception.

Go Back