1985 BC Lions

Team | 2012

In 59 seasons of Canadian football, it would be hard to find a better, more balanced team than the 1985 BC Lions squad. Blessed with sixteen future Lions Wall of Famers including Lui Passaglia, Roy Dewalt, Glen Jackson, Larry Crawford, John Blain, Mervyn Fernandez, John Henry White, James Parker, Alan Wilson, Kevin Konar, Ian Sinclair, Tyrone Crews, John Pankratz, Gerald Roper, Nick Hebeler and Rick Klassen, the Lions fielded a virtual all-star team on both sides of the ball. Their record in 1985 featured an all-time best 13-3 mark (.813 winning percentage) and an amazing 7-1 road record under Hall of Fame Head Coach Don Matthews. Assembled by Matthews, General Manager Bob Ackles and President Ron Jones, the club blazed out to a 10-1 start, and then rallied to finish in first place in front of 59,478 fans at B.C. Place Stadium. Mervyn Fernandez led the way on offence on the way to the CFL’s Most Outstanding Player Award for 1985. QB Roy Dewalt passed for 4,237 yards and 27 TDs, while Jim Sandusky and Keyvan Jenkins made valuable contributions. The Lions’ defence held opponents to 18 points or less in 9 of 16 regular season games and topped the CFL all season. Six players made the CFL All-Star Team and another four earned West honours on the way. In the 1985 Grey Cup Game, all-time leading scorer Lui Passaglia hit 5 FGs while Roy Dewalt passed for 394 yards to lead the Lions to their second CFL championship.

Go Back